Best News Network

IPL winners and runners-up from 2008 to 2022

As we get ready for IPL 2023, take a look at the winners and runners-up from all the previous editions of the Indian Premier League.

IPL winners and runners-up list from 2008 to 2022

Gujarat Titans are the seventh new team to win the IPL trophy. Sportzpics

The 16th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is set to commence on 31 March with the first match between defending champions Gujarat Titans and Chennai Super Kings. Since its introduction in 2008, the franchise tournament has come a long way as it has witnessed as many as seven different teams lifting the silverware over the years.

Mumbai Indians have been the most successful franchise with five titles, which came in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. Chennai Super Kings, known to be Mumbai’s arch-rivals, are trailing just behind them. The Yellow franchise has engraved its name on the coveted trophy four times so far with the latest one in 2021. Kolkata Knight Riders also have a rich history, becoming the champions twice. The teams who have tasted success once include Rajasthan Royals, now-defunct Deccan Chargers, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Gujarat Titans.

In IPL 2022, Gujarat Titans made a roaring entry into the tournament with India all-rounder Hardik Pandya leading from the front. The new entrants suffered just four defeats during the group league, advancing to the knockout stage as the table-topper. In the first playoff, they got the better of Rajasthan Royals to directly qualify for the final. Rajasthan got a rematch by advancing to the final after winning the second play-off match. But Gujarat once again outclassed them, winning the final by 7 wickets.

Gujarat Titans will begin their title defense with the first match against Chennai Super Kings, slated to be hosted on 31 March at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The date for the playoffs and final is still not out.

With the IPL 2023 just around the corner, let’s take a look at the winners of previous editions:

Season Winner Runner-up Player of the match
2008 Rajasthan Royals (RR) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Yusuf Pathan
2009 Deccan Chargers (DC) Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Anil Kumble
2010 Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Mumbai Indians (MI) Suresh Raina
2011 Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Murali Vijay
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Manvinder Bisla
2013 Mumbai Indians (MI) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Kieron Pollard
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) Manish Pandey
2015 Mumbai Indians (MI) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Rohit Sharma
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Royal Challengers  Bangalore (RCB) Ben Cutting
2017 Mumbai Indians (MI) Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) Krunal Pandya
2018 Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Shane Watson
2019 Mumbai Indians (MI) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Jasprit Bumrah
2020 Mumbai Indians (MI) Delhi Capitals (DC) Trent Boult
2021 Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Faf du Plessis
2022 Gujarat Titans Rajasthan Royals Hardik Pandya

Read all the Latest News, Trending News, Cricket News, Bollywood News,
India News and Entertainment News here. Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook

We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! NewsAzi is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.